A growing obsession

Our second month of MATS Bootcamp class is complete. I just submitted my final presentation to the class gallery and am feeling proud and happy! Here it is.

presentation

Our objective for this assignment was to create a bolt fabric print/pattern using Jello as a theme. Shown above is my favorite design plus two coordinates. I had so much fun with this design that I created 10 coordinates to include in my illustration portfolio! I think they would go well in a bundle for quilt making, or kitchen accessories like aprons, towels, and even plates! 

Screen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.11.14 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.13.22 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.20.45 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.16.11 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.15.00 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.12.17 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.17.34 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.25.43 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.25.51 PM

I cannot wait until the class gallery goes live on March 25th. Everyone’s work has been so excellent and, as was the case with our February iPhone case assignment, extremely varied in style! I’ll keep you posted so you can check out all the great work!

This project also had an extra little color challenge. We were encouraged by Lilla Rogers to focus on a somewhat neutral, muted, “nougat-y” palette. Tones of taupe and grey infused pastels as a color combo is very trendy right now. Luckily, since my Jello inspiration was derived from 1950’s kitsch, I already had some of that going on! I put together a color study just for fun, but in the end kept my original color scheme.  See the results of the “Fifty Shades of Taupe” color  grid homework assignment below.

Microsoft Word - BC_MAR_SP_Fifty Shades Grid.docx

And lastly, since I’ve been seeing prints and patterns everywhere I wanted to include this photo inspiration of some Amika hair products that my stylist gave me this week. What cute packaging! And look, the colors are ‘nougat-y!’ Mmmm! Smells yummy too, trust me.

product

The month of April is a break for us Bootcampers, so I am going to use the time to practice more patterns as well as update my online shops at Redbubble.com, Society6.com and Spoonflower.com . I gotta say that I am kind of obsessed!

As I reflect on how excited I am to focus on this new creative chapter of life, I am reminded of this famous Buddha quote:

“All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become.”

In other words, “What we focus on grows.” This also has the same meaning as the of the law of attraction, an idea most recently made popular by the famous movie and book, “The Secret.”  Oh Yeah!!! On that note, I’m off tend to my garden of life!  Have a great weekend, everybody.

2 thoughts on “A growing obsession

  1. Pingback: Sweet promotional ping! | Oomph!

Leave a comment